Models of Case Management

There are a large number of case management programs around the country composed of service elements and philosophies borrowed from different program models. Despite this diversity, a number of identifiably unique models of case management exist and can be defined.

Solomon (1992) identified four general types of commonly practiced case management:

1. Expanded broker model

2. Rehabilitation model

3. Strengths model (Rapp, 1998)

4. Full support model (assertive community treatment).

A short explanation of each of these models is provided in the following subsections. These models have many common characteristics. When actually applied to the real world, program administrators and staff may combine one or more of these models. On the other hand, they may choose not to employ a particular element of a given model.

The full support model is given the most attention. Currently, it is most commonly referred to as assertive community treatment (ACT) or program of assertive community treatment (PACT). ACT is an evidence-based practice.

Was this article helpful?

0 0
Your Perfect Right

Your Perfect Right

Always wondered if you could use assertiveness and equality in your relationships and in your life? Here are some great information on how to be more assertive! Do you want to improve your career and the amount of money that you bring home? Do you want to break all the sales records in your office? Do you want to bring home more money? Do you feel as though you are just short of reaching all of your goals?

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment